Bicycle Safety



We want you to enjoy your stay in Lavallette. Your safety, while riding a bicycle, is important to us.  Please adhere to the following bicycle laws which are intended to minimize your risk and maximize your enjoyment.

Your observance of these laws and guidelines will enable you to have a safe and pleasurable stay with us.  All bicycle laws shall be strictly enforced.  If at all possible, use the bike route on Bay Boulevard.

New Jersey law stipulates: "anyone under 17 years of age that rides a bicycle or is a passenger on a bicycle...must wear a safety helmet." and "a bicyclist must obey all state and local automobile driving laws. A parent may be held responsible for the child's violation of any traffic law." and " Initial violators of the helmet law will receive warnings. For minors, the parent or legal guardian may be fined a maximum of $25 for the 1st offense and a maximum of $100 for subsequent offense(s), if lack of parental supervision contributed to the offense."

When ridden on any roadway a bicycle rider has all of the rights and responsibilities of any vehicle. Unless bicycles are specifically excepted, all traffic laws and rules apply to bicycles. Bicyclists who violate traffic laws are subject to a citation.

New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety Link



Bicycles on the Boardwalk

During the Bathing Season June 15, 2024 - September 2, 2024
Bicycles are only allowed on the boardwalk between 5am and 8am and 5pm and 8pm.

Outside of the bathing season there is no limitation on riding your bicycle on the boardwalk.